My Style: Nusrat Choudhury

18 Mar

When I was younger I had no idea what style was. My mom used to pick out allll my clothes until I was in middle school. That’s when I was actually exposed to more things on the internet and started watching more television. In elementary school I feel like the pattern on your lunchbox mattered more than your clothes to be honest, but it wasn’t until middle school when everyone had a Myspace or started posting pictures online that I actually started paying attention to clothes. At first it didn’t really affect me because my friends didn’t really care for styles, we were more into comfort. But there was a phase around the beginning of high school where I did wear nothing but clothes from american eagle or abercrombie, just because I saw everyone wearing them. But it didn’t take me long to realize the ridiculousness of conforming to other people’s perception of style. I think it’s mainly the group of friends and really open minded high school I went to that helped me realize style isn’t just what everyone is wearing or what designers say is the best, it’s up to you to take what you see in the media and magazines and on people and add your own style and flair. Sure you can use what you see in magazines to start off as a sort of base, but if your style doesn’t reflect you in at least one aspect then I feel like it’s not really your style. Or even if you don’t follow the trends, as long as you feel comfortable and like how you look, then at the end of the day it doesn’t matter what the latest trends are. That’s what I think my style is, a mix of both trendy and chill. Sure somedays I feel like dressing up, but then I have days where I just want to wear what I want. It all depends on my mood in a way, but all in all I can say “my style” is just my style. =]

style icon:

(because she can be trendy but at the same time she has a very relaxed and laid back style)

Leave a Reply

